Skip to main content

Boothby, Benjamin

Athletics - ben-boothby.png
Benjamin Boothby –
Class of 2007

Induction Class of 2017 – Football, Track & Field, Wrestling

Benjamin Boothby was a 2007 graduate of Clinton High School.  Boothby was a multi-sport athlete.  Boothby was a varsity letter winner in football, wrestling and track.

As a River King football player, Boothby earned several football honors.  Boothby was a 2007 Shrine Bowl invitee, was named to the Des Moines Register’s Football Elite All-State team, was chosen as a 1st Team All-State (Class 4A) selection by the Iowa Newspaper Association and the Des Moines Register, was a unanimous All-MAC pick on offense and defense, was selected as 1st Team All-Metro captain pick by Quad City Times , earned the Clinton Herald Player of the Year and was recognized for opening holes for MAC leading rusher Tony Bassett, who rushed for 1,515 yards.

As a River King wrestler, Boothby won the 285-pound Class 3A state wrestling title as a senior with a 44-2 record.  As a junior, Boothby placed third in the state at heavyweight with a 39-5 mark.  Boothby posted a career prep wrestling mark of 107-33.

Boothby was also a member of National Honor Society, an honor roll student, a four-year member of the 3.0 Club, and ranked in the top 10 percent of his high school class.

After high school, Boothby continued his football career at the University of Northern Iowa where he was a two-time 1st Team All-Missouri Valley Football Conference pick and earned 1st Team All-American honors as a senior in 2011.  Boothby earned 2nd Team Academic All-American accolades in 2010 and was a two-time 1st Team All-District academic pick. He was a finalist for the 2011 FCS ADA Postgraduate Scholarship and was a semifinalist for the 2011 William V. Campbell Trophy (Academic Heisman).

Boothby earned his Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine in 2016 and currently resides in Toledo, Ohio where he is finishing his Orthopedic Surgery Residency.  Boothby will be inducted into the University of Northern Iowa’s Athletics Hall of Fame in 2017 where he will be honored as the Merlin Taylor Academic Hall of Fame Award winner.