Skip to main content

Crew, ’92

Athletics - 92_Crew.png
’92 Crew

Induction Class of 2017 – State Champions

The 1992 Clinton River Kings went 24-1 during the 1991-1992 season, and went on to win the state championship. The ’92 Crew was powered by the best winning percentage and the highest scoring average (72.1) in Clinton High History.

While accomplishing these feats, the ’92 Crew became the first and only Clinton High basketball team to be ranked number 1 in the state both by the Associate Press and the Des Moines Register.

Coached by Randy Teymer, the River Kings defeated Indianola in the championship by a score of 97-60.  The ’92 Crew generated tremendous community and school pride and remains a proud representation of Clinton High School’s history.

1992 Varsity Boys Basketball Team: Front row, left to right, Marlon Tillman, John Hall, Scott Housenga, Chris Powers, Mike Cleppe, Chris Johansen, Jeff Reiser, Pete Stremlow.  Back Row, from left to right, Coach Randy Teymer, Manager Alan Heck, Mitch Hopkins, Kevin LaCourse, Jacob Dunk, Todd Zaehringer, Leon Stark, Jeff Werning, C.J. Rose, Eric Dorsey, Matt Jepsen, Manager Kevin Lee, Athletic Trainer Kurt Flathers, Assistant Coach Gary DeLacy